Class of 2015



The Ascension Chamber of Commerce Announces Its 20th Leadership Ascension Class

Gonzales, LA—August 20, 2014—The Ascension Chamber of Commerce announced its twentieth Leadership Ascension Class on August 19, 2014 at a reception held at Parc 73 in Prairieville. This year’s class consists of 38 outstanding individuals, one of the largest classes to date.

Leadership Ascension, like similar programs nationwide, is designed to develop responsible and informed communityleaders.  Recognized and emerging leaders in the community are selected to represent the diverse demographic of the Ascension Parish Community based on an application outlining each candidate’s work experience, education and community involvement.

The 10-month Leadership Program strives to develop practical leadership skills while promoting personal growth.  Sessions are held each month and cover topics including diversity, education, social concerns, health care, law enforcement and government.  The program begins with a teambuilding opening retreat and ends with a two-day closing retreat where the students review the sessions, share thoughts on Ascension Parish and present class projects that are developed throughout the year.

Over 500 individuals ranging from business owners to government officials have completed Leadership since its inception.  Many of these top leaders participate on the Chamber’s Leadership Alumni Committee that assists in planning, recruiting and fundraising for this renowned program.

To learn more about Leadership Ascension, visit or call 225.647.7487.

 Members of this year’s class include: Ryan Andrews, Cabela’s; Ethan Babin, Pelican Point Golf Club; Craig Beaman, Ascension Parish Sheriff’s Office; Lorie Bercegeay, Ascension Parish Clerk of Court; Jason Bonaventure, Ogwyn Bonaventure, LLC; Jo Broadway, Don's Seafood; Christy Burnett, Parish of Ascension; Elizabeth Canfield, BASF; Justin Champlin, Ascension Parish Assessors Office; Trey Cline, SBS Construction; Danielle Dawson, Regions Financial Corporation; Jeffrey Delaune, Waguespack & Associates; James Flanagan, BASF; Donna Gaignard, City of Donaldsonville; Garrett Ganucheau, E Federal Credit Union; Khalli Hagan, River Parishes Community College; Jenny Heroman, EATEL; Jaime Malveaux, St. Elizabeth Physicians; Monica Marchand, United Community Bank; Joey Mayeaux, Ascension Parish Sheriff’s Office; Brant Mayer, Commerce Title and Abstract Company; Jada Mayon, Hughes Insurance Services; Kim Melancon, Ascension Parish School Board; Aleaha Morgan, GSA Consulting Engineers, Inc.; Andrew Pecquet, BASF; Yvonne Pellerin, St. Elizabeth Hospital; Edward Prejean, Prejean Computer Consultants; Jane Rabalais, Red River Bank; Chancie Sibley, United Medical Rehabilitation Hospital; Olivia Simpson, Tanger Outlets; Shannon Sing, Professional Archive Solutions; Eddie Smallhorn, Cox Business; J.W. Smith, LaQuinta Inn and Suites; Tevora Tabor, Primerica; Michelle White, Domain Design Architecture; Tammy Williams, City of Gonzales; Phillip Wright, Pelican Point Golf Club and Tracey Zimmerman, Kopy Kats Printing.




Liz Laurent

VP of Operations

Ascension Chamber of Commerce

Shop Ascension